1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Left Hand Conflict

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by timidbassist, Mar 21, 2006.

1. So I have been asking a lot of questions on here and I have come across another one.....

Since I have been playing bass guitar for 6 years my left hand has become very stretched out and my finers automatically postition to bass guitar frets. This makes it difficult to do the 1-2-4 fingerings of upright since I need to stretch my 2 finger farther away from my 1 finger. The other thing is my 4 can stretch farther away from my 3 than most normal because of the guitar experience. I am wondering if anybody knows of anybody that uses the 3 finger in place of the 2? If one of the two isn't going to be used why does it have to be the 3rd?

Is this something somebody else has tried, or is there something I am over-looking at the moment? I have not yet asked my instructor about this because I have lessons on Saturdays and I only thought of this today.

Let me know what you guys think of this. Thanks alot!

2. I could be wrong, but I believe that's what the Italians did or are still doing. I know the Bille method books all say 2 instead of 3 for fingerings, so I'm going to guess that this method still works. I've never heard of anybody using this method today though.

I think the reasoning behind using the second finger instead of third has to do with strength and independence. The ring finger and the pinkie use the same tendon, which is why it's very difficult to move your ring finger without moving your pinkie. This makes it much easier to group the third and fourth fingers together and act as one finger essentially.

Here's an easy demonstration: