Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Left Handed Bass Players??

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Warlord786, Nov 27, 2003.

1. Warlord786

Warlord786

Nov 22, 2003
    Alright I was just wondering if there are any left handed players out there? I just started playing like yesterday, and im left handed. Heh when I went to GC yesterday they had ONE left handed bass under 500. So thats what I had to go with. I couldnt play right handed, it feels way wrong. lol Bass must not be meant for us left handers :(

2. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    i'm a lefty

3. Warlord786

Warlord786

Nov 22, 2003
    awesome, you play left handed too??

4. Jmann

Jmann

Apr 29, 2003
    Lexington, Ky
    me too!

5. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    lefty and lefty

6. Vince S.

Vince S. Resident Former Bassist

Jan 24, 2003
    Im a lefty, but I learned in the right-handed position.

7. Finger Blister

Finger Blister

Jul 8, 2003
    You had to go with the only lefty
    instrument because you can't play righty
    because it feels wrong. If your a Newbie,
    you can learn right handed easily. Yes, it will
    "feel" strange for about 3 months. Then you've
    got the rest of your life to enjoy your pick of
    instruments.

I'm completely and totally left-handed.

The only thing I do right-handed is
    play Bass.

From the beginning, I wasn't going to crippled
    by insisting on a Left Handed Instrument.

Besides, Fretting with your strongest hand makes sense.

8. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    i too would recommend that you play righty, even though i'm a lefty playing lefty.

as a lefty you will not find much of anything for you to play on. if you are just starting out, learn righty - your bass takes two hands to play - which one is more important? which one is more dominant in playing? i feel both are equally important.