1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

liquid cooling

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by tomzilla23, Apr 3, 2009.

1. tomzilla23

tomzilla23

Aug 11, 2008
    Oakdale, PA
    do they make any type of a liquid cooling system for amps

if not i think this would be a good idea don't you;)

2. PSPookie

PSPookie

Aug 13, 2006
    Ocoee, TN
    I've never heard of it, but that doesn't mean that it hasn't been done.

Personally, I think that putting a liquid cooling system into an electronic device is asking for trouble -- especially when air cooling does the job just fine.

Then again, what do I know? I'm just an engineer.

3. greenboy

greenboy

Dec 18, 2000
    remote mountain cabin Montana
    greenboy designs: fEARful, bassic, dually, crazy88 etc
    Ah, yeah - they used to pee on the machine gun barrels during the great war when they had been fired long enough to get hot. Sound like the way to go. And you can do away with those pesky breaks between sets too!

4. mjolnir

mjolnir Thor's Hammer 2.1.3beta

Jun 15, 2006
    Houston, TX
    It's fairly common to see liquid cooling systems in custom built PCs and nothing get hurt.

I imagine however that with a bass amp the only upside of a liquid cooling system is no fan noise, which sort of becomes moot whenever you actually start playing.

5. TrooperFarva

TrooperFarva

Nov 25, 2004
    New City, NY
    Are you trying to overclock your amp? Water cooling is cost prohibitive, maintenance intensive, and won't have any appreciable improvement in an amps performance.

6. Hagelslag

Hagelslag

Dec 19, 2008
    The Netherlands
    The only mayor plus is noise reduction, which in computer systems where liquid cooling is allready a known technique, has it's uses. Mainly because the fans in a computer are fairly loud.