1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for a 5-String on Tight Budget

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by thevintagesound, Oct 23, 2006.

1. I've looked at several different lines of basses and I am really having a tough time trying to figure out which way to go. Just to give you a little bit of background on me, I have been playing guitar for 6 years now and I have now swapped over to playing bass for the band that I am in. So I am reworking my playing style, going from playing rock guitar to bass and incorporating playing finger style on bass. It been a tough transition from using a pick.

Anywho, I want to pick up a 5 string so that have a wider playing range than a 4 string. So I'd like to hear from you guys about descent basses for $400 or less range that will hold up for a while and playability. One thing that I would like to find one is the volume stay pretty even across all the strings.

Also the style of music we play is classic rock, modern rock, and I would also use this in the praise band at church. So I like a good thundering bottom end.

Thanks,
    Steve

PS - I really would like to stay away from Fenders, I just dont like the feel or look. :bag:

2. Last month I picked up a Squier MB-5 for $229. I think it's fantastic. It's my first 5-string and it plays like a dream. It's got two J-syle pickups, one volume, one tone and a blend pot.

It's not a P or J-bass clone, the MB-5 body is smaller than either. I got the Black Cherry Burst finish, which looks amazing. Find one and give it a try, you might be surprised.

Good luck!

[​IMG]

3. Alexander

Alexander

Aug 13, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    You could get a G&L Tribute L-2500 used and perhaps even a new one for close to that. Talk about thunderous low end...

4. Those G&L's are darn near impossible to find. Had local dealer stop carrying them cause their lead time non existant.