1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Looking for some funk

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Twospot, Jan 7, 2012.

1. Twospot

Twospot

Jan 1, 2012
    Toms River,NJ
    I all! I'm just getting into bass and I am looking for some new tunes to listen to outside of the normal hard rock and metal I normally do.

I am interested in some real funky stuff, but more of the rock genre. I know there are some great funk bands like tower of power and others. I know these bands are great but they tend to lose me because they just don't have enough bite for me.

Can anyone recommend some good funk bands that are a little harder from a rock perspective? Thanks!

2. cschenk78

cschenk78

Mar 12, 2000
    Watertown, NY
    Early Incubus has a funky side to it as well as Infectious Grooves...

Keep listening until you find something that moves you...

3. ffutterman

ffutterman Talentless Bass Enthusiast

May 7, 2010
    Philadelphia
  4. bass12

bass12 And Grace, too

Jun 8, 2008
    Montreal, Canada
    Funkadelic would be a good place to start. Ohio Players as well. And check out the song "Deaf Hook-Up Connection" by Don Blackman. You might also like some early Chili Peppers (Freaky Styley) and Fishbone.

5. Hmm... off the top of my head, these don't all fall under the "funk with bite" umbrella, but I LOVE funk and these have all been inspirations. Check out the bands of course, but here are some of my favs:

Lettuce - Squadlive

Soulive - Vapor
    (Lettuce's "little brother"... Lettuce is Soulive with additional people)

Phunk Junkeez - Join In (and who couldn't mention Devil Woman? lol)

Infectious Grooves - Violent and Funky
    (Suicidal Tendencies alter ego I believe)

Beastie Boys - In 3's