Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Low Signal Output-Do I Need A Powered Mixer?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Bryan R. Tyler, May 16, 2005.

1. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    I'm new at this PC recording thing, so please bear with me. Right now I've got an XLR out from my Sansamp RBI preamp going into the breakout box on my Delta 44 soundcard. When playing straight into the amp, I have a fairly low output into my recording programs, even with the XLR volume on at 3 o'clock. Now, when I add my Boss GT-6B into my signal chain between my bass and the preamp, my signal boosts up to what it should.

Does this mean I should be plugging my XLR out into a small mixer or something to boost the signal into my PC? If so, does anyone have a recommendation for a small inexpensive unit? Thanks!

2. Droog

Droog

Aug 14, 2003
    PDX
    I am not familiar with the gain staging of the RBI but... Generally a DI is a mic level signal intended to be going to a mic preamp to be boosted to line level. Being as you are taking the DI/XLR out and going into a line input on the Delta you may be bypassing a needed gainstage. The fact that the Boss is getting your signal where you like it could just mean that it is driving the RBI hotter. If you don't need to hook into your poweramp you may try taking the 1/4" out of the RBI and running that into the Delta. I thinkt he Delta is balanced or unbalanced. That should be a hot enough signal.