1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

MusicMan Sabre not popular?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lowdownthump, Jan 5, 2018.

1. lowdownthump

lowdownthump

Jul 17, 2004
    Why is the MusicMan Sabre rarely mentioned here? I know there are players here that enjoy them but the numbers seem so few in comparison to the other models .
    I’ve seen Louis Johnson play them for a lot of years after his Stingrays and Yamaha BB’s and Trekker signature model . He seems to be the player that I associate with the Sabre. Don’t really know of any other well known players that favor the Sabre.

2. bdgotoh

bdgotoh Supporting Member

Aug 6, 2002
    Pacific NW
  3. dmt

dmt

Apr 19, 2003
    Orbiting Sol
    Well, since you asked "Why is [it] rarely mentioned?", I’ve been playing bass for 15 years, own 8 basses and I’d never heard of the Sabre until just now reading this post, lol. No joke. I mean, it’s my own ignorance so I’m not proud of it (though I’m not embarrassed), but there you have it

I think you answered your own question.

Also, just reading up now on what a Sabre is, I see they were out of production for 22 years...

Last edited: Jan 6, 2018
    Pbassmanca and Machiavelli like this.
  4. dmt

dmt

Apr 19, 2003
    Orbiting Sol
    As to the title question, ‘Why aren’t they more popular?’ (to paraphrase), that’s a good question.

Spec-wise, a StingRay with the flexibility of an extra pickup, it seems to make a lot of sense. I’ll be interested to read the responses to why they didn’t catch on as well as their more popular Music Man siblings

Pbassmanca and lowdownthump like this.
  5. bdgotoh

bdgotoh Supporting Member

Aug 6, 2002
    Pacific NW