Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My Bands Recording Dilema

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Big Benner, Aug 3, 2005.

1. My band went into a pro studio using Pro Tools last week and did all of the Bass & Drums and then ran out of time. The next week the studio informs us that they have a lot of high paying work coming in and can no longer finish our low budget stuff (fair enough, they were really nice about it). They've given us all of the Pro Tools audio files on CD, so now our search begins. We need to record keyboards, guitars and vocals.

A few notes - I've been using Cubase for the last 2-3 years on my desk top PC with a ST 24/96 sound card. I've got a large diaphragm mic, access to SM 57s & 58s and a behringer stereo tube pre complete with stands, shock mount and large wind screen (vocal puff screen - I don't know what to call it). I've done a lot of research, experimenting and recorded lots of things with great results. I'm no pro but I can get some good sounds going.

I've just moved into a new apartment and will begin night school so using my desktop PC and recording at my place is out of the question, but my singer has a new Dell PC laptop and a great basement for doing this. So:

Option A - find another studio to take over and finish the project. Unfortunately this is going to cost us and we were paying next to nothing. I don't think the band has any money for this due to various reasons.

Option B - buy a digital interface like the MBox (http://www.digidesign.com/products/mbox/) that comes with Pro Tools, load it up on my singers laptop and hit the basement with a large learning curve. Hopefully the Pro Tools that come with the MBox will be compatible with the one that the Studio used and work with the CDs the studio gave us.