1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

My bridge slightly moved

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Inconnu, Dec 9, 2006.

1. Hi !

I've had an upright for less then a year so I'm still new to this. I realized today that my bridge has slightly moved(approx 2mm down and 3mm left). Should I take it to the luthier, leave it that way or detune the strings and put it back in place myself.

My luthier marked the bridge position at the last setup.

Thanks !

2. Greg Clinkingbeard

Greg Clinkingbeard

Apr 4, 2005
    Kansas City area
    KC Strings
    You should be able to loosen the strings enough to move the bridge yourself. Check the alignment of the bridge while you bring the strings up to tension. You don't want it to come forward.

3. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    Loosen the strings only enough to force the bridge into place. Don't relieve all the tension. That will reduce the likelyhood of the post moving.

If you are a little adventurous, you can probably move the bridge without loosening the strings at all. I do it all the time.

4. anonymous8547j7d7b

anonymous8547j7d7b Guest

Jul 1, 2005
    Yip. Hai-ya!:ninja:

5. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA

I never have been a karate chop guy. That is a little spooky for me. My teacher showed me an easy way that is much safer.

If the bridge is tipping, you can grasp the G and E in your fists and use your thumbs to leverage the feet back down flush on the top. The same idea works for actually scooting the feet. Just be careful where you leverage from.

6. Interesting, I'd like to try this on my bridge. Are you saying you grasp the G and E strings, and push with your thumbs on the top of the bridge?