My drummer is poo and I don't know what to do?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by RicPlaya, Jan 21, 2004.

1. RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI
    Where do I start. Well you need a background of the situation. Me, my bro, and best friend started a band about 15 months ago. We had a drummer he never showed up so we converted the keyboard player to drums since he played drums years earlier. He has been a friend for over ten years to all of us. Well, he sucks! I got him lessons, my buddy got him lessons with some of the best drummers in Detroit, free lessons I may add, he never calls the guy or rarely practices what he is being shown. He still has tempo and transition issues. He rarely practices with a metronome and work on his weak areas. We played a gig in October where he completely mentally caved in and blew the show because the mix wasn't perfect like in our basement, in fact he blew every gig. I am a drummer too and try to help him but he thinks I'm bossy. Basically we rehearse every weekend, put a lot of money and time into this, and sacrifice a lot of our personal lives for the band. There are a lot of things we want to do but we always revolve our actions around his inabilities and he is holding us back. To me, he is mantally weak, unorganized and unfocused to where and what he needs to do, fails to correct the same problems from week to week, month to month. And emotionally draining because we constantly need to coddle him and reinforce him. He has invested a lot of money in his kit, and like I said he is a good friend but a bad musicain. If we fired him it would damage our frindship and he would be crushed! I have tried everything to the point where I think he is hopeless, his problems are himself. He wants to start singing and writing when he can't even keep a consistant tempo or get through a gig. I am so torn, part of this whole thing is about frinds and doing something you love with people you like and have a bond with. I feel he