1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. We are aware of an issue affecting search results for classifieds searches and advanced search functions.  Actively working on a fix, thanks for your patience!

NBD: Hofner Ignition Violin Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Aloe, Aug 2, 2020.

1. Aloe

Aloe

Apr 10, 2016
    Ukraine
    So my newest arrival is Hofner Ignition Violin Bass:

P8021549.jpg

I've never tried one in-person before mine arrived to me by mail.

I was looking for a compact carry-around bass that's easy to play and I got this: 4.5 lbs of weight and low action. My ABG is both heavier and harder to play, so I'm excited at this part. To my surprise however this 30" scale bass isn't significantly shorter than my 34" electric basses.

I can say that violin basses is a completely different world, both by ergonomics and by sound.

Weirdly enough, the narrow string spacing is not a problem for me. Neck dive very present, but an arm over the body helps to mitigate it.

Currently two things to do, first is getting new strings (I'd prefer rounds), this seems a problem considering this is a short-scale and has those weird guitar tuners, seems like shops around don't carry short-scale strings at all. Any recommendations welcome.

Second is fret dressing, there're several frets that seem to be higher than the rest, so playing after 12th fret is a buzz world.

I'm also thinking of upgrading those weird tuners. Really not fond of stock ones, the guitar-like string hole is one problem, but aside of this they don't seem to have a smooth action (I've properly lubricated them, of course). Maybe re-drill the bass for Ultralites? Anyone ever done this?

2. Samatza

Samatza

Apr 15, 2019
    Australia
    Congratulations, enjoy!