1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

NBD: IDK! (What is this bass?)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by boots_cats, Nov 30, 2018.

1. boots_cats

boots_cats

May 23, 2014
    Help! I just picked up this amazing fretless in a trade, and damned if anyone knows what it is! It's awesome for sure, but curious if anyone has an idea who made it or where it came from? No branding, no serial number other than a date (13-8-89).

Ebony board, side wings either walnut or wenge (I'm not good with fancy woods) and the neck isn't maple. Bartolini passive pickups, all Gotoh hardware, brass nut. As you see the headstock actually curves backwards at the top, like a paintbrush - it's really cool!

I got it in Berlin, so possibly made in Germany but by no means certain. 2 owners ago thought it was a Schack prototype, but I'm skeptical.

Any thoughts/ideas?

IMG_20181125_213739. IMG_20181126_181753. IMG_20181125_213905. IMG_20181125_213856. IMG_20181125_213914.

2. I certainly don't think it's a Schack. Schack were in full swing by 1989 and this looks a little more 'homemade' than their basses. That brass nut, for instance, looks to have been machined by hand.

Uncle Hanky likes this.
  3. boots_cats

boots_cats

May 23, 2014
    Yeah, I'm not so familiar with Schack but just from googling them, I tend to agree with you.

The nut looks shabbier in that picture than it really is - it's quite tarnished. Homemade is still the leading contender, as far as I can tell.

wesonbass likes this.
  4. osv

osv Supporting Member

Dec 1, 2009
    Milwaukee, WI
    The neck looks like oak. I don’t know of any production shops using oak for necks, so I’m guessing home made.

Solarmist and UNICORN BASS like this.
  5. boots_cats

boots_cats

May 23, 2014