1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Neck Joint Separation

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by pi_r_squared, Oct 19, 2013.

1. pi_r_squared

pi_r_squared

Sep 3, 2008
    Is something REALLY BAD about to happen? :eek:

This bass belongs to a friend of mine who asked if I wanted to try playing one in their group. I've been playing it for about 9 months and just noticed the neck joint "issue" shown in the attached pic.

The back of the neck joint looks like the neck is starting to lift out of the joint (finish cracking, bare wood visible above the joint).

There's also a small displacement behind the neck. It's VERY small, but the finish has cracked as a result. The cracked finish makes the pics of this issue look much more dramatic that it looks in-person.

A little history:

She bought this bass used from a friend (may have been her friends' son's bass, or something), and I have a feeling that it hadn't been played in a LONG time. The tailpiece had been whacked hard enough that the tailwire had come out of the grooves, and the bridge and tailpiece were almost an inch off-center, who knows how long it had been like that.

I started playing it about 9 months ago, got an adjustable bridge for it, played for a month or 2, switched to nylon strings, continued practicing and doing a few benefit gigs up until now. Since I've had it, it has never been dropped or fallen over.