Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need practise, now!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Biggums, Jul 25, 2005.

1. Biggums

Biggums

Jul 25, 2005
    :bassist: Hello everyone, I've been playing the bass for 2 years and in my school Me and my friend "Mr X" are the best bassist there. However, being friends and bassists of similar calibur, there is a bit of rivalry. However, "Mr X" is very arrogant about his bass talent and is always bragging on about it, where as i never talk about it. Due to his arrogance people are thinking that he is really good. There is no doubting that he is good, but he needs a good kick up the back-side. I have just started my summer holidays. Me and "Mr X" have quite a big social circle and are always out late doing "teenager-ish" things :p but I realised that this would be a perfect oppourtunity to practice.

Here is my query. Having never had a lesson and having never really practised perse (I usually just jam, not all those scales and stuff) my bass technique is kind of rough around the edges. So I need a nice list of exercises to do. Now people, I need hard ones, or ones that WORK!

Hope this post isnt too long :smug: but just to indicate my level of "bass-ness" I am currently working on "YYZ" by "Rush" for those of you that have heard of it. I can do all of the bass fills, I just get tired.

2. Biggums

Biggums

Jul 25, 2005
    Oh yes, just to inform people wondering about mine and "MR X's" styles, think of it like this. Being white, I'm the generic white bass player, Being black, "Mr X" is the steriotypical black bassist (Funk). It may seem kinda crude but its the only way to describe it.

3. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    Look at the stickied practice thread at the top of this forum.