New Amp= 2nd thoughts on bass purchase- thoughts and advice?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by vindibona1, Apr 22, 2018.

1. Forgive the long story, but I need some sage advice.

It's been a couple months since I started playing bass seriously. About 30 days ago I picked up a Yamaha TRBX605FM as I had doubts about the size of my Ibanez BTB675 which I bought on the spur of the moment because it was so beautiful. After playing the 675 for a few days I thought I needed something smaller. Got a great deal on the Yammie and thought it would be ideal. It feels great. The build is great. Different than the Ibanez. But since then two things have changed...

I've grown into the Ibanez, but at 10 pounds plus I don't see myself doing 3 hour standing gigs with it. I love that bass now and while it is big and heavy I don't feel it's that big any more. But the second thing was the acquisition of a GK MB112. I never owned a bass amp before. I chose the GK because of it's clarity and simplicity. And that's where the problem is... It's revealed the nuances of my basses.