New Bassplayer wants adjustable bridge

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by mwshelton, Dec 24, 2005.

1. Hi guys, I'm a beginner who just purchased an Engelhardt EC1. The action is terrible. I don't want to have to track down a luthier so I plan on installing an adjustable bridge. What brand would you reccomend. I want agood one that is affordable. Thanks, Mike
  2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I'd recommend tracking down a luthier, right after you find a good teacher. Also spend some time in the newbies link (at the top of each section) as your post indicates to me that you'll gain a whole lot from the exercise. Fill out your profile and folks here will have an easier time helping you out.

Welcome to TBDB.
  3. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist Supporting Member

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    They don't just "bolt-on". They have to be fitted to your bass and therefore that's why you need a luthier. Check out this site and see some of the hand work that needs to be done.
  4. I live in bluegrass country. I know of a few instrument repairmen, but no luthiers. I would like to purchase a good adjustable bridge before I take my bass to a repairman. My action is terrible 12 to 14mm. What brand should I purchase? Thanks, Mike
  5. Brent Nussey

Brent Nussey

Jun 27, 2001
    Tokyo, Japan