Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Bow

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by kewleb, Jun 2, 2005.

1. kewleb

kewleb

May 18, 2005
    Liverpool, England
    Hello all

Just got a new bow, but it doesn't seem to wanna take the rosin. Do I need to "pre-treat" the hair in some way? At this point, it just feels way too slippy and the rosin just won't adhere to the hair, it seems. i'm not very experienced with bows and rosin, as you can imagine :bag:

2. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    did you get the bow from a bowmaker ? A bowmaker will usually prime the hair with powdered rosin.

Take a piece of rosin and crush it to dust, then take something like an empty thread bobin, mash it around in the powdered rosin and apply to the hair with the bottom of the bobin.

3. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.
    Please answer these Qs so I and otheres can help.

1) What kind of bow?
    2) Is the hair new or old?
    3) What kind of Bass do you have?
    4) what kind of strings are on the Bass?
    5) how old are the strings?
    6) what kind of rosin are you using?
    7) how old is your rosin?
    8) how long have you been playing Double Bass?
    9) do you study with a professional orchestra bassist?

Any, some or all of these factors can be the source of your problem.

4. kewleb

kewleb

May 18, 2005
    Liverpool, England
    Hi Ken

1 The bow is a brazilwood bow, German style. Not expensive, but looks ok and well made
    2 Brand new hair
    3 NS electric upright bass
    4 The stock strings that came with the bass, which I believe are d'Addario helicores
    5 Strings are about two and a half years old
    6 Have been using a non-bass specific rosin, Hidersine violin rosin
    7 Rosin is reasonably old, more than five years