Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Player Needs Help!

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Bloodmole Bob, Apr 3, 2005.

1. Bloodmole Bob

Bloodmole Bob

Apr 3, 2005
    Hi. I've been playing electric bass for over twenty five years and just recently purchased a double bass. I'm having some problems with some fundamentals. First: Tuning. The three tuners that I own and have used on my electric will ot even register with the double bass. I guess the sounds are two low. From what I've read, one can seriously damage a double bass by tuning too high. However, after tuning by ear, it seems much too low. Are there any online samples of double bass sounds that I can use to tune with? Second: Bowing. As a complete novice to bowing, I'm lost. Drawing the bow across the strings creates absolutely no sound. Do I need rosin to creat a sound or am I just doing it wrong. Anyone's help would be appreciated.

2. a. meyer

a. meyer

Dec 10, 2004
    portland, oregon
    Yes, you need rosin. The hair produces no sound, as you have discovered.
    Tuning: if you have a metronome, you can use the "A" to tune the fourth harmonic on the A string (it's at the fifth "fret", D on the A string), then tune the other strings to that. If it still sounds too low, it may be because the double bass produces more fundamental than the bass guitar, and you're not used to hearing that.
    Or you could find a teacher...bowing's a bitch to figure out on your own.

3. nicklloyd

nicklloyd Supporting Member/Luthier

Jan 27, 2002
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Are there any upright bass players in your area? Ask around and find out who teaches. Getting some master-class type lessons with an upright bass teacher will really pay off in the long run. Left hand fingering and bowing are important basics to learn. There are some dvds/videos available, but one-on-one is the ideal way.