New Rig Day - Hartke Content

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Fletz, Nov 20, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Fletz

Fletz

Jan 16, 2009
    New Jersey
    Hartke artist
    From the guy who writes entries that are way too long for Talkbass, but hopefully entertaining enough for those that read them…

When I started playing bass, my first amp was a little 25 watt “Stadium Bass” brand combo box. I used to carry it across the neighborhood to my best friend’s house – he was a drummer. Played it like it was stack. My very first experience playing bass was through my Dad's Ampeg B-15 - but that's a story for another day. But MY first “real” rig was a Hartke HA3500 I bought in 1990 along with a 210 Hartke Transporter cab. I had that set up until about 2008. I had stopped gigging for a number of years in between and started getting serious again around that time. And, it’s not that I didn’t like my Hartke, I was just in a different place in my life. I wanted to try and play other gear. I had a real job, no kids yet and I was gigging again so I started experimenting. The following list of heads I owned, sold and/or traded is no exaggeration (remember, since 2008!):

Hartke 3500
    Ampeg SVT 7 Pro
    Peavey Tour 700
    Markbass Little Mark
    Ampeg PF500
    Genz Shuttle 6.0
    Genz Shuttle 12.2
    GK 1001RB

And don’t get me started on cabs. Various 410s, 210s and 115s. Mesa, Ampeg, Genz, Fender…

Over the last several years I have been gigging fairly regularly with a couple different bands. I also “friended” Larry Hartke on facebook (like any of us can) and ran into him at the Sam Ash Bass Lounge a couple years ago on a fairly regular visit to the store (the old and the new) in NYC. At first, I was awestruck. I mean, it’s Larry Hartke… the guy in the bass magazine ads. The guy who gave Jaco his rig. The guy who knows all the guys in the industry. And he was super nice.