1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Newbie Here - Too many questions for one post, but here's a start...

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by pi_r_squared, Sep 3, 2008.

1. pi_r_squared

pi_r_squared

Sep 3, 2008
    Didn't see a 'hi I'm a newbee forum' so this seemed as good a place as any.

I was drafted to play bass for our church's praise and worship team, mostly because I was the only guy around who had once held a bass.

I've played guitar on and off for 30 years or so, had a standard scale A/E bass that I had bought on a whim. Fret spacing was driving me crazy, so I picked up a short scale electric.

I'm enjoying playing, finally put away my pick, discovering some of the nuances of playing a bass for a live audience, like if someone besides a bass player compliments your playing, you're probably too loud.

That gets to my first question:

The church has a fairly new sound system, mixer, etc. but I think the frequency response on their amp won't go low enough for a bass. They need to run a seperate powered sub-woofer for the keyboard.

We tried plugging my bass into the house system through a direct box, house speakers were barking, even at low volume levels.

I picked up a used amp that seems to work well enough (eden nemesis n15s). Has no trouble with volume for a church of 150-200 people. My understanding is that this amp's far from professional quality, but superior to low $ 'toy' amps. We have to use the amp for the bass, but this doesn't give the sound board any control over the volume.

Guess I'd better get to the questions:

1.) Is it likely that the problem plugging directly into the system could be limitations on the frequency response of the direct box?