Newbie here

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by dirtfan49, Jul 12, 2020.

1. dirtfan49

dirtfan49

Jul 12, 2020
    My dream is to learn how to play bass. I know it takes time and money for lessons. Unfortunately I have neither of those. I have tried online lessons, you tube videos and tutorials, lessons on dvd, I have tried picking things out just be hearing them but nothing has worked. I feel like if I could just get a kick start or pointed in the right direction or learn how to play a song, I feel like I could keep my motivation to continue learning instead of throwing my hands up as I have done so many times in the past and said "this will never work, I'm never gonna learn this."

Can anyone help me? PLEASE?!?!?

Ggaa and EatS1stBassist like this.
  2. pcake

pcake Supporting Member

Sep 20, 2011
    Los Angeleez
    hello, and welcome.

do you have a bass and an amp - any kind, but an amp?

what isn't working about online lessons for you?

EatS1stBassist likes this.
  3. rzamites

rzamites Total Bass Hack

Jun 27, 2020
    Michigan
    Do like I’m doing:
    • Find a song you like and want to play
    • Get the tablature for said song
    • Practice, practice practice
    I also spend time just tinkering about on the fretboard, learning by ear what notes are where - ultimately though, lessons or no lessons, you’ll get out of your bass journey what you put into it. I’m only a few days into actually having a bass and amp, but have spent time each day practicing. In my mind, I’m not practicing to get great, I’m practicing to suck less.

Good luck, just put in the time, try not to get discouraged and you’ll progress.

LowActionHero, Helix, neuman and 3 others like this.
  4. SunByrne

SunByrne opinionated intellectual Supporting Member

Aug 29, 2019
    Pearland, TX