Newbie song question - Numb.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by LocoEnElCoco, Jun 7, 2021.

1. LocoEnElCoco

LocoEnElCoco

Jun 7, 2021
    Hi. I am a real noob at bass and have only been playing a few weeks, so please go easy.

After doing a few exercises and getting the fingers a bit stronger I decided to pick an easy song to learn. So I went with Linkin Park - Numb as when I searched the tab and videos it look(ed)s like something that I could learn quite easily as opposed to lots of other songs I like.

Anyway I have a question regarding the tab and the song. As it appears it is not as easy as i thought (at least to play it right).

So I found this play along with tab.

I do not know if my ears are just bad but the 3rd note in the tab doesn't sound right to me (the 1st fret on the A string). For those that know the song what do you think?
    Though I have also seen it tabbed exactly the same way somewhere else

I had a look at a live video of a performance of the song by Linkin Park and although I cannot really see the bass player playing the song. He does have a 5 string bass.
    So I was wondering if I can even play this song on a 4 string? (*I also note that there is also a 5 string bass play-along with tab on Youtube too).

Then I found another tab play-along of this song on another music site and it is played in a completely different way - with different notes too (not just the same notes but on different strings).

Anyway this might be simple for most of you guys. But now I am a little confused as there seems to be several versions of the song tabs but using different notes and some sound strange.

Is that because it is a 5 string bass song and all but one of those is tabbed and played on a 4 string (which is what I have got).

Thanks for any help.

2. WrapRough

WrapRough

Jan 26, 2021
    London
    Looking at sheet music ,the chord progression is F#m, D, A, E, which is the key of F#m.

Mushroo and LocoEnElCoco like this.
  3. Mushroo