no-name Japanese EB-0 SG up for consideration

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bass V, May 12, 2019.

1. Bass V

Bass V

Dec 11, 2008
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    this bolt-on popped up locally with 0 info to be found on it and I have no experience with a Japan knock off of this sort to know if it could be worth dickering with the seller on price, asking $300 w/offers accepted. the bridge would have to go straight away, tuners are typical meh, but otherwise it could be a sleeper if it compares close to the real McCoy, which is dreaming unless someone can ID and clue me in on this mystery bass.
    upload_2019-5-12_15-59-35.png
    upload_2019-5-12_16-0-17.png
    upload_2019-5-12_16-0-54.png

jd56hawk and jamro217 like this.
  2. GretschWretch

GretschWretch Supporting Member

Dec 27, 2013
    East Central Alabama
    Tuners and bridge are both bottom rung, and neck pickup appears not to have adjustable polepieces. The bridge pickup, however, is a Maxon -- a pickup for which I entertain great respect. For $300 I would try for better, like an Electra EB copy.

mikewalker, Bass V and jamro217 like this.
  3. ajkula66

ajkula66

Sep 23, 2016
    NEPA
    I'd pass unless it's under $150 and plays great. I've owned an identical looking piece branded El Degas and another one (a very pretty natural) with an Aria logo. These old Japanese EB copies are cute-looking but not all that great IMO.

Both the neck pickup and the bridge are likely to have non-Gibson dimensions rendering them irreplaceable without modding, at which point this becomes a time and money consuming project without any clarity on how it would sound in the end.

I'd rather spend a bit more and buy a trashed Gibson EB-0 as a starting point, but that's me.

Good luck.

klejst, Bass V and jamro217 like this.
  4. ^
    This.

5. jd56hawk

jd56hawk

Sep 12, 2011
    The Garden State
    Sorry, but I'd buy any of these three sight unseen, before I paid even $100 for that thing.
    [​IMG]

6. Bass V

Bass V