1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Not enough power? What up?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by nirvana1410, Jul 22, 2012.

1. nirvana1410

nirvana1410

Jun 29, 2012
    2usv8kj.

Here's my rig, I've got a 450 watt Ampeg B2RE and an Ampeg SVT810EN cabinet.

I tried out both the amp and cabinet at practice for the first time yesterday and I was a little bummed, because I couldn't get the volume I needed. It gets pretty loud in that garage but still, 450 watts? I had plenty of room on the controls to go, but the peak light was on all the time, and I'm terrified of blowing one of my speakers.

I'm fairly new to the bass world and don't know much about the equipment. and I dont really want to hear that my head sucks either. I'm aware many don't like the B2RE.

But anyways.... help me out?

2. samurai1993

samurai1993

Jun 6, 2010
    Chile
    My 2 cents:
    -Talk with your buds when you play with other people, if you all are going too high, it will be bad for your ears. Find a good practice volume

-Use a compressor/limiter, those peaks are because of the way we attack the strings, certain frequencies sound "louder" than others; for example, if you are using your string low and a strong attack on the string, you will get a lot of clank, and that clank may sound more than your actual notes. If you use a compressor, it takes your signal and makes it more even, so the "louder" things don't sound as loud, and the quieter ones don't sound as quiet. That way you can get an overall louder sound when turning up the volume knob in your amp, without worrying about blowing your speaker.

Hope this helps you!