1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Not good at jazz....

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by AlphaMale, Mar 15, 2008.

1. AlphaMale

AlphaMale

Oct 30, 2006
    Ventura County
    Basically a local jazz musician heard me play and wants me to jam out with him, but I have no playing experience with jazz. And he wants to do it publicly on top of it all. I tried playing to some modal jazz songs on my iPod and I wasn't even good at that, it seemed what I played didn't fit. I know I can't master jazz in a couple of weeks but I should be at least be able to get by with the help of a bunch of jazz bassists from talk bass helping right? An suggestions?

2. Rob Mancini

Rob Mancini Guest

Feb 26, 2008
    Immerse yourself in the jazz world as much as possible as you can in the next two weeks, then plunge headlong into it. If you screw up, at least nobody dies.

Also, get a list of somgs this guy might do with you.

3. AlphaMale

AlphaMale

Oct 30, 2006
    Ventura County
    He wants to improvise I guess. I don't know how to play to get that jazz sound really though. What do you guys do when you jam with other people?

4. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    There are very few "tricks" to playing jazz music - it's a more of a discipline than a style. I'm a complete novice at it, but it takes a lot of work to get fluent in the genre. Because of the strong emphasis on improvisation, it requires a lot of music theory knowledge and skill the instrument that's not comparable to many other types of music.

If possible, get your hands on the charts for the music you are going to be playing and familiarize yourself with the changes. The better you know the music the more confidently you can play.

5. There are some tips, but no tricks:

In no particular order: (but listening is #1)

1. Play as much as possible!