1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NOT playing for a few months....

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by cire113, Nov 21, 2010.

1. cire113

cire113

Apr 25, 2008
    Ive been playing for 3 years.. if i dont play for 3 months will i be hurt that badly playing wise?

TO keep a long story short im depressed ive had tendonitis for over a year wont go away im hanging up bass for 3 months in hoping it will heal..

Oh god let me play bass again please:crying::crying:

2. waleross

waleross

Nov 27, 2009
    South Florida
    No !

3. fonnet

fonnet

Jan 6, 2008
    Toulouse
    You can take this as an opportunity to work on bass without the bass. If your living doesn't rely on your ability to play bass of course. You can work without the bass:
    - the rhythm, counting on every song you hear or played and discover if you are able to keep the 1 (and find it!), clapping on the one, clapping at quarter or eight, saying different rhythm out loud (if it's not in your head, you'll need luck to play it right every time)
    - the melody, sing the bass line, especially on lines you already play and make some correlation between the intervals you sing and what they are (2nd, 3rd, other?), sing the melody of the tune or the second voices to be able to do backup vocals (very appreciated if you want to audition for groups)
    - the harmony, learn the chord progressions of the song you play and understand if the bass take always the root or not and why! Discover what you already play with a fresh eye and get more freedom for when you'll be able to play again: you will be more aware of what's coming and therefore be easier on the song (you'll be more relax and less prone to injury too)