Not progressing on bass

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Artisticbassist, Apr 28, 2019.

1. Artisticbassist

Artisticbassist

Apr 28, 2019
    Hi so I’m 17 yrs old and I’ve been playing the bass for about 3 years now. I love it so much and it’s always been one of my favorite things to do. But lately I’ve been feeling like I’m not progressing at all. I play everyday but it’s usually just songs/riffs I already know. I try to learn new songs but always ended up getting bored for some reason :( I really want to improve and get better but I don’t know what to learn. I feel like I’ve lost motivation to play and into frustrating me. Does anyone have any tips maybe that could help? Thank you

Maxime1980, djaxup, teh-slb and 5 others like this.
  2. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    How about learning a new/different genre...something outside your box & comfort zone?
    Example: Afro-Cuban music/bass.

Or-
    Take something you know well (like a 1 or 2 bar figure) & mutate it.
    Mutate could mean permutatations...like play it back-to-front?
    Example: l1&2&3&4&l becomes l&4&3&2&1l

Or- If it's 4/4, make it into an odd time figure.
    Or- Shift the figure to the right (displacement). If the figure starts on "1"...move it so that it begins on the "& of 1".

Something else to strive for (eventually).
    Take a 12-Bar Blues.
    Be able to play it is a variety of feels-
    Swing
    Shuffle
    Latin
    Funk
    Reggae
    Ska
    ...etc

Just food-for-thought.

lizardking837, r10, jchrisk1 and 14 others like this.
  3. Artisticbassist

Artisticbassist

Apr 28, 2019
    I will give that a try, thanks.

jamro217 likes this.
  4. DirtDog

DirtDog

Jun 7, 2002
    The Deep North
    Are you getting out to jam with anyone?

5. monkeyfinger

monkeyfinger Moderator Staff Member