1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Nut replacement on Jazz neck-difficult??

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by tonynoriega, Apr 17, 2006.

1. tonynoriega

tonynoriega Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2004
    Tampa, Florida
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I want to replace the brass nut on a Fender reissue Jazz neck with an original one. I've never done it before and would like to know the degree of difficulty involved......how are they usually installed? Will it just lift up or can it be gently coaxed with a prying action? Please let me know your experiences. Thanks in advance!!

2. Phil Mailloux

Phil Mailloux

Mar 25, 2005
    Brisbane, Australia
    Builder: Mailloux Basses
    Why would you want to do that? Brass nuts are usually used on deluxe or high-end models, they're way better than a standard crappy white plastic nut. The advantage of the brass nut is that your open strings have the same sound as fretted ones, not so with any other kind of nut.

If you absolutely WANT another nut it is feasible but wth some specialized tools if you want to do a good job.

Have a look at this link:
    http://www.stewmac.com/freeinfo/I-5350.html

3. tonynoriega

tonynoriega Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2004
    Tampa, Florida
    Phil: Thanks for the input. The reason I want to replace the brass nut is that the sound I'm getting is too "raw" and bright. I want to tone it down some.

4. ElBajista

ElBajista

Dec 13, 2005
    Sebring, FL