Octave up split to guitar amp

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by caesarspalace, Feb 15, 2022.

1. Foxrox Octron

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. T-Rex Quint Machine

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Other

100.0%
  1. Hi everyone! I’m helping out a friend by gigging with his (blackened?) punk band in the coming months. Their music usually has 2/3 guitars but this time the band will be set up as a 3-piece. We were discussing things we could do to beef up the sound and he suggested running an octave up signal through a guitar amp. I’ve never done this before but the idea definitely sounds fun to me! Backline and whatnot would be taken care of, I just need to make sure I have the right tools in my pedalboard :)

I don’t want my bass to sound too synthy so I started looking at analog pedals and the Foxrox Octron definitely caught my attention.

I also checked the T-Rex Quint Machine which isn’t analog but has a 5th interval which would allow me to play power chords. I’m just afraid it will sound like a Nintendo once I start adding overdrive to it.

I’d like to read your opinions on these two if you have experience with them, especially since I found very few videos with bass.

2. I don't have any experience with the two pedals you mentioned, but I have used the TC Sub'n'Up mini as an always-on octave up though a guitar amp for quite a while. It is a digital pedal (with no extra fifth) but definitely doesn't sound too synthy or artificial with a good dose of distortion after it, either from another pedal or from the guitar amp.

AlexanderB likes this.
  3. Michedelic

Michedelic MId-Century Modern