1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Old dog, new tricks

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Bad_Boy, Apr 24, 2009.

1. Bad_Boy

Bad_Boy

Sep 16, 2002
    Luton in UK
    Hi, I'm a mainly self taught lefty (stop sniggering) got to a good standard on Classical guitar moved over to bass about 8 years ago. I play regularly in church and in a Jazz band, but recently have been offered Jazz gigs "If you can get an upright".

So should I rent a DB and try to learn righty? Pros - kudos from the jazz crowd Cons will never get to play in church as we play LOUD. Plus I get to miss out on all the 'DB will really help your BG playing' advice I see here as the fretting hands will be different.

Or just buy a lefty EUB such as a BSX Pros - Get to play it more in church - and who knows where else, Cons - Its not a DB, plus some jazz heads may get sniffy.

Advice please.

BB.

2. Hmm. It's going to be a heck of a lot of work to learn DB coming from there. You WILL need some lessons, or you're going to get injured.

DB is so physical the muscle training to get your left hand in to shape might be an issue.

Once you're done you might find you can play BG both ways...

3. Dave Whitla

Dave Whitla

Apr 25, 2006
    Ireland
    There are companies that make left handed (reversed) models of double basses. Strunal, for one, but there are others. If there's a music shop near you that does basses, have them look into it.

I wouldn't do a conversion of a right handed instrument, because it's too much of a compromise and will most likely cost a bundle and sound like crap.