1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Only fretless

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by werdna1999, Feb 9, 2017.

Tags:
  1. werdna1999

werdna1999

Apr 28, 2016
    Mainly a bedroom player/noodler. I'm a high school student and any money I don't save goes into funding my music hobby, so my funds are limited. Anyway, I've got a fretless G&L American semi hollow asat that is my main bass. Also have a jazz bass, more of a frankenbass that I'm really tempted to put a fretless neck on as well. This would leave me with no fretted bass, which could be a problem for playing in lowkey Classic Rock band that I have with some friends

So I guess my question is, do I really need a fretted bass? Anybody gone all fretless?

2. MMiller28

MMiller28 Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2003
    Wisconsin
    ^^^ Didn't I look cool in high school?
    Stop!

Rabidhamster likes this.
  3. Rabidhamster

Rabidhamster

Jan 15, 2014
    Just don't sell the fretted neck and put it on if you need it.

gebass6, Wisebass, werdna1999 and 2 others like this.
  4. tangentmusic

tangentmusic A figment of our exaggeration

Aug 17, 2007
    Reno/Tahoe
    Gotta have (at least) one of each..

IMG_0308.JPG IMG_0322.JPG

MattZilla, gebass6 and werdna1999 like this.
  5. John Conte

John Conte

Oct 3, 2012
    It's a good idea to keep the original fretted neck and get a spare fretless neck. Test it for awhile and decide which way you want to go.