Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Opinions on GK MB150E

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by musicman5string, Jan 20, 2006.

1. musicman5string

musicman5string Banned

Jan 17, 2006
    I've been using this little combo for 10 years now. Sometimes sounds great, sometimes not so great. In small rooms where I don't need much volume, it's perfect. In larger rooms when I'm playing with a loud group....look out!:help:
    The thing I love about it is it's size, weight, and the padded carrying bag.:)
    BTW, I'm using Underwood and Realist pickups.

Todd Coolman once was telling me how the amp itself it really good, but the stock speaker they put in it sucks. So he replaced his with an EV. We did a side by side comparison of his amp to mine; I didn't notice that much of a difference, to be honest....maybe his was a little warmer or clearer sounding, but the EV also added another 20 lbs. to the amp.:bawl:

Anyway, I suppose I would continue to use it; it's never malfunctioned on me.
    Any thoughts?

2. My experience is exactly the same as yours. It's a great little combo amp unless you have to play really loud, like with a big band as I sometimes do. I also use an Underwood pickup. A few things I've done to squeeze out a LITTLE more volume are:

--use a preamp/equalizer (the Fishman Platinum Pro EQ model)
    --use a stand (I think it's called QuickLock) to get it up off the floor.

Even at that, it's not loud enough for very loud situations. Limitations of a small amp, I guess. The only solutions I know of, for very loud situations, are either to get a more powerful (and likely much heavier) amp, or use an EUB.

3. basss

basss

Aug 27, 2001
    NYC