Ordering EUB: 4 string or 5?

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by wilsonn, Oct 5, 2005.

1. wilsonn

Sep 26, 2005
    New York
    I've been playing 4 string basses (acoustic and bg) for almost 30 years. I am ordering an Ergo. Seriously considering a 5-string. Any thoughts on how difficult the transition will be? Any regrets from folks who bought a 5 but now wish they'd stuck with 4? At the end of the day, I like the idea of having a low D, C and B to go to, but concerned that the learning curve will be steep and that I won't be comfortable.
  2. wilsonn

Sep 26, 2005
    New York
    I am a little surprised that more than 40 people reviewed the post and no one has an opinion.
  3. D.A.R.K.

Aug 20, 2003
    ok then-
    5 all the way here.
    nothing like an arco low b. or d.... etc.
    never played an ergo, the ns is very comfortable.
    as for learning curve, that's up to you.
    i started playing erb years ago, just had to practice the fingerings a bit.
    the tuning is the same interval as the rest, the scales are the same patterns, so if you understand basic theory, it should be relatively easy in the brain. just gotta get the hands use to it.
    you can do it!
    also maybe think this: just 5 more notes than before.
  4. Bob Gollihur

Bob Gollihur GollihurMusic.com

Mar 22, 2000
    New Joisey Shore
    Big Cheese Emeritus: Gollihur Music
    It really depends on you and how you believe you'll react to the change. I have played both four and five string electric basses in the last several years-- the bands and the predominant keys and styles have dictated the want of the low B string, and I like having the positioning advantages the lower string provides. I will often switch between a four (fretless) and five on a gig... however, I know players who do not feel comfortable doing that. I haven't felt the need for a five string URB/EUB- the requirements are simply different for me.