Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Orlando instructors

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Walking Carpet, Mar 6, 2006.

1. I was wondering if anyone could recommend an instructor in the Orlando area? I cannot afford weekly lessons, but as a beginner, I would like to turn to a pro before I pick up some of the proverbial "bad habits".

Thank you for taking the time to read my post!

2. I take beginners/intermediates, but I'm in Lakeland. What part of Otown are you in?

3. I'm in east Orlando, somewhat close to where 417 and 408 come together, so that would be a bit of a hike.

Thanks for the quick reply!

4. orlfl

orlfl

Jul 22, 2005
    Orlando
    If you want to get serious... Dave LaRue. Hands down. Call Bass Central and find out when he has a space in his schedule.

5. Commreman

Commreman Faith, Family, Fitness, and Frets Supporting Member

Feb 12, 2005
    New Jersey
    Absolutely! I studied with Dave in the late '80s when he lived here in Joisey. It was total boot camp, and worth every minute and every dime.

6. jaxlaw

jaxlaw

Oct 5, 2002
    Winter Garden
    +1 on Dave at Bass Central. Dave is a great guy and a patient dude - puts up with me every couple of weeks - enough said.

7. ptuckerbass

ptuckerbass

Sep 12, 2000
    Orlando, Fl.
    Another +1 for Dave LaRue. You're very fortunate to live 25 minutes away from Bass Central. Call and see if he has any openings. Dave's more expensive, but he's a world class player and instructor. Your playing will advance light years faster than doing it on your own.

I studied with him for about a year and a half. He is very patient, yet thorough. Don't waste his time if you are not serious about practicing.

Good luck