1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Peavey T-40 Help!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Porklit, Oct 5, 2009.

1. Porklit

Porklit

Oct 5, 2009
    Burlington, VT
    I suppose I'll start with a bit of an introduction, since this is my first post on this forum. I started playing bass about a year and a half ago when I borrowed a cheap Ibanez from a friend, Eventually I bought my first bass back in late April or Early may of '08. Picked up a Epi Thunderbird, and I still love it. Never really been too consistent at playing it, but Just got to college and It's been getting harder and harder to put it down. Met a few good people up here, and we're in the practice stages of planning for my first gig. We will be playing Paranoid by Black Sabbath (not too hard, but I don't want something really technical in case I freak out up there). Not planning to play at a big venue by any means, just open mic night.
    Anyway, since the t-bird a bit geared towards the low end, I recently got back into the market for basses. Bought a MIM Fender Jazz bass, then saw a T-40 on craigslist (always been a sucker for these, its been a less ambitious dream bass if you will). Talk to the guy, and we end up trading basses straight up which I was excited for at first, as I thought it was a deal of a lifetime. After trading basses, I saw that there was a crack in the base of the neck! Took it to the shop (still there) and they said they would look at it, but things don't seem to be looking good. Now his puts me in a predicament in many ways. 1- I am a college student, not a millionaire on Wall St, money is a concern. 2- If this neck is done for good, necks are hard if not impossible to find for these basses. 3- There is no sort of protection from these types of things from craigslist, so I can't get my money back or go back on the deal.