Peavey TKO and 115BVX cab for small clubs?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Snakum, Jan 25, 2006.

1. Snakum

Jan 25, 2006
    Greensboro, NC
    I'm a recovering guitarist of some 20+ years, now exploring bass and having a blast so far. It's nice to be excited about playing again. But I'm playing thru a newer PV Basic 112 and homemade 1x12 Blue Marvel extension cab that is only marginally sufficient for gigging unmic'd. Anything bigger than a small dive bar and a heavy-handed drummer would start to drown me out, I think.

In a couple months I'll be able to spend a little money on a used rig, and will spend a few days scouting the central part of the state for a PV TKO 115 and a 115BVX cab. This would give me the flexibility of a combo for practices, and then let me add the cab for gigs. It would yield 100 watts at 4 ohms with the cab, and is still light enough for me to carry (old and with a bad back :( ). This would do all the things I thought the Basic 112 and cab would do for me, but ensure I wouldn't be drowned out.

Has anyone used the newer, 'red-letter' TKO 115 combo?

Did you like it?

Does it sound similar to the Bassic 112 (I actually like the tone of the combo quite a bit)?

What do you think about the power with the cab ... loud enough?

Thanks for any help at all.
  2. 1up_SVT

Jan 15, 2006
    Sorry, but i wouldnt think they are loud enough, a head and cab would probably be better, i just really dont think the TNT and TKO combos have enough umph to them, 100 watts isnt much in bass terms

Try looking at the Nitro (max450), Firebass (max700) heads, or maybe the new pro range coming out (looks good!), and a cab of your choice, you can pick them up pretty cheaply and are great bang for buck and reliable as hell
  3. Snakum

Jan 25, 2006
    Greensboro, NC
    Thanks for the tip. I've been digging around today, and it looks like an older Nitro or Mark III/IV on 2x10 or a 1x15 might be found for under $500 if one looked hard enough.