1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pedal board... or not? That is the Question.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Admiral Akbar, Sep 14, 2018.

1. Yes, I always use a pedalbaord

129 vote(s)
    57.6%
  2. Sometimes I use a pedalboard

62 vote(s)
    27.7%
  3. No, I never use effects - I go “straight in”

29 vote(s)
    12.9%
  4. I eat only a carrot-based diet

14 vote(s)
    6.3%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Admiral Akbar

Admiral Akbar

Mar 12, 2013
    New York
    I’ve been playing bass for about 25 years. Rock, R&B, Jazz, funk, reggae, fusion...

I usually play going from bass straight into amp, no effects. Once in a while, I’ll use a MuTron III or octave pedal, but that’s about it. Looking through the pages of Talkbass, and more importantly, seeing other players on gigs, it appears I’m in the minority. Is it true most players use some sort of effects board?

It seems Bass players’ pedal boards often are as large and diverse as guitarists...

What say you, Talkbass?

2. Pedals are fun, making your bass sounds out of the norm is an adventure all in itself. The key is moderation.

Nunovsky, TheBear, JeffC23 and 8 others like this.
  3. My problem is that where my Rig is currently situated (in-law's front hallway), I can't even begin to put ALL my pedals on a board!

I'm down to the bare minimum of units right now- Tuner, Comp, Octave, Distortion, 2 Preamps, Amp, Speakers.

I've got between 12 and 15 pedals that I can use at any time- just no room to put them all down and use 'em!!!!

ARG.

ARG, indeed!

Swampish likes this.
  4. klokker

klokker

Jan 7, 2009
    Steele City, NE