1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Pick converts share your journey

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Mrmatt1972, Apr 13, 2018.

1. I began playing bass at 15. I exclusively played fingerstyle, followed Chuck Rainy's advice in his book about a light touch and using some fingernail. Also slapped a bit because I was a big Flea fan in High School. As I entered the workforce I had less time and opportunity to play bass with a group so I transitioned into an acoustic guitar player and songwriter. Mostly fingerstyle there too. I started playing with a pick in my 30s as I got into electric guitar. I also started home recording and playing with people regularly. I would rarely play bass, always a borrowed one, and only fingerstyle.

Last year I bought a bass to have in my studio. I became hooked again, but still only played fingerstyle. I now play in 2 groups and sub in a third.

As a lark last week I grabbed a heavy pick and decided to rock out one day in my garage. It turns out all the pick skills I gained playing guitar are transferable! I guess I was never any good at using a pick as a young man. Now that I am I can't get over the versatility! So many sounds just from changing angle and palm muting. I'm a convert. Fingerstyle will be a secondary technique for me moving forward.

Tl:dr. Used a pick as a guitarist: turns out I'm goid at it on bass now too.

knumbskull likes this.
  2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
    I started on guitar and always used a pick for bass, for decades.