Pickup technology, pole pieces, ramps, rants and other things ...

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by The13thFret, May 10, 2019.

1. So I own an Ibanez ATK, I dislike it aesthetically, everything else I own and actually play is P/J, I don't think its a good looking bass. That aside, there was always something about it that made me want to play it. I'm lazy and seek effortlessness. left hand?, give me a Jazz neck with an action just above rattling and I'm a happy camper. Right hand, I have a cobbled together self taught 3 finger technique, I know I attack the strings too hard, I rake, do all the things you are not supposed to do.
    The time line or stream of thought goes something like this.
    • Liked playing my ATK did not know why
    • Played a Line 6 with no pickup, 6 inches of thumb rest, hated it and didn't know why. It had a nice neck, we all obsess about necks right?
    • Realised it was the big fat ATK pickup that was making me play "better". Fingers not diving into the void under the strings etc. etc.
    • Googled, I had never heard of and had no clue what a ramp was, found an web page/article Gary Willis explained all, and the penny dropped.
    • read this article Players Archives - Bass Musician Magazine, The Face of Bass
    • got me thinking.

So, my questions are as follows.
    Have Bass pickups evolved or advanced much in the last 50 years?
    Why are they still an inch deep requiring a body route?
    Why do we still buy square pickups that don't match the sting/fretboard radius?
    why can't I just buy a bass with a body I like, a neck a like and stick on whatever kind of low profile pickups I like, then swap them out when my playing style/lack of practice makes me thinks new pickups will make things better

finally, why am I up at 7am on a Saturday morning thinking about all this :)

two fingers and Killed_by_Death like this.
  2. Killed_by_Death

Killed_by_Death Snaggletooth Inactive