Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pieces for University Auditions

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Steph Dawe, Feb 26, 2005.

1. I'm currently studying my last year of high school :)eek: ), and for my music course I have to compile a selection of pieces that go for 10-12 minutes for Solo Performance.

I'm studying "Wave" by Jobim at the moment as a solo piece, and I was thinking about playing a piece I found out of a book or "Dune Tune", which I learnt ages ago.

What I need to pass this section of my course, and collect suitable pieces for Uni, is a range of pieces, from jazz, to rock, funk, etc. I was wondering if you lot could suggest pieces I could do for that. My teacher has tons, yes, but I was interested in seeing what you guys would suggest.

I'm leaning away from slap stuff at the moment because I'm not good at it, and I don't want to risk doing something I have to kill myself over. I'm really into jazz stuff (in terms of my learning), but I want a variety of stuff.

Anyway... post away. :D

2. Well, I'm playing teentown at my exam this spring. I plan to do it the Manring way - with looper.
    I'm also doing portrait of tracy.
    I'm going to play autumn leaves. At first I'll play the melody with chords, then I'm just going to walk with a band, and solo.
    I'll also play Chameleon and perhaps some Jamiroquai.

3. Aaron

Aaron

Jun 2, 2001
    Bellingham, WA
    One of my favorite solo bass/duo bass peices is Naima (originally done by Coltrane on "Giant Steps"). Jaco does his own rendition on his video and Bill Laswell breaks into it on a Material album. It could show your skills for chording, soloing and phrasing quite a bit. It kills on fretless.

4. mikeboth

mikeboth The last thing you'll ever see

Jun 14, 2002
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Operator: prophecysound systems