practice habits

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by handsomeman858, Apr 27, 2004.

1. handsomeman858

Apr 26, 2004
    Hi I'm new. So if i mess up don't beat me. Okay?

Anyway I've been playing bass for about 1 and 1/2 years and I admit it I suck. I own a squier p-bass (which I resent), and a really nice behringer amp. I've been having some major problems forcing myself to get some good practice time. What happens is I sit down all motivated and get a few songs played through once or twice then get sidetracked on something like messing around with riffs or other unproductive activities.

In the past year and a half I've definitely improved, but not as much I think I could have.

Somebody please help me!!!
  2. jgbass

jgbass Guest

Dec 17, 2003
    Hi Handsomeman!

A bass girl is here. First off you, you resent your bass. Is there any way on earth you could get something better that you like? What do you resent about it? Would a better set of strings make a difference? Sometimes that does wonders. If price is an issue, there are some other good options in that price range. An Ibanez for example. They have some quality new models that are very playable. I just bought at new Ibanez and I'm going through a I-can't-wait-to-get-home-and-practice phase. I didn't like my first bass so, after a few months, when I had a better idea of what was the right fit for me, I traded it in for something I liked and it wasn't much more expensive either. Still have that bass.