1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Precision Pickup with Tight Full Bottom ?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Modern Growl, May 19, 2012.

1. I'm kinda new to the P world - Jazz guy mostly.

I'm wondering of the popular P pickups out there, which have a tight full sounding low end? I'm looking for fat, warm, thick & tight.

I have my tone control rolled 75% back if that gives you an idea of what I go for. Not into the wide open rock sound.

Whatcha think? Nordstrand NP4? Fralin? ...others?

...for some reason, I think the NP4's have the tighter bottom, no?

2. colcifer

colcifer Esteemed Nitpicker Supporting Member

Feb 10, 2010
    A Galaxy Far, Far Away
    Do you realize just how great a post this is?

I have no idea what pup you should get, btw.

3. John D

John D Guest

Dec 27, 2009
    I'll bet he spent at least an hour on the composition of the third sentence.

Oh...I don't know about the pup either.

4. I'm not quite sure what your getting at here? :eyebrow:

5. John D

John D Guest

Dec 27, 2009
    Poor attempt at a joke, I guess. Don't worry about it. It isn't important. :meh:

6. Problemchild

Problemchild

Apr 9, 2011
    DFW
    Can't go wrong with the Nordstrand NP4. I would also suggest
    using 250k pots- linear for volume and audio taper for tone.
    I like the tone rolled back 100% and have found that a .015
    cap sounds best for what I am looking for. I would try experimenting with cap values to suit your needs
    "Super-The Best !!"

FWIW, I am using DR Low Rider EH50 SS strings

:)

7. Fender Original Series '62 P-Bass pickups combined with La Bella Deep Talkin' Bass flatwould strings should get you that tight full bottom you're looking for.

8. geckoman1220

geckoman1220

Jan 23, 2012
    once you play these pickups with a drummer, guitarist, and singer, they all sound the same. ... :bag:

9. sikamikanico