1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Problems recording bass

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Acrimonus, Sep 24, 2010.

1. Acrimonus

Acrimonus

Jan 18, 2010
    Ontario, Canada
    I've tried hooking my bass directly up to my computer with garbage results, I can't get it loud enough. I use an Ibanez GSR 205. Is there a (cheap) way to get around this?

Also, I have a USB recorder, however along with the horrific delay (unbearable, it's half a second), if I turn the bass up to an appropriate level it is BADLY overdriven. It sounds ok coming out of the output from the USB DAC (and there is no delay there either) but if I hear from the computer what is coming in from the DAC it is delayed is very overdriven. Is my bass just too hot for this DAC? Any (again, cheap) options to get around this? I'm a new bassist, I don't want to spend large amounts of money into bass equipment until I'm better and know this is what I want to do.

I would prefer a solution to the first issue rather than the second though, recording directly through my sound card (Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1 sound card, pretty good piece, very recommended on places like overclock.net in their audiophile section), instead of just letting it sit there and go to waste!

2. MonkeyBass

MonkeyBass

Mar 22, 2009
    Denver, CO
    Cheap? How much?

Recording equipment = $$$$$

3. Acrimonus

Acrimonus

Jan 18, 2010
    Ontario, Canada
    Cheap enough to hear sound that mostly intelligible, tone doesn't matter, I'm a beginner, I just want to hear noises that don't crackle or are overdriven (unless specifically looking for overdrive!)

4. MonkeyBass

MonkeyBass

Mar 22, 2009
    Denver, CO
    Well, I'm not sure about the cheaper gear. You might get a better answer from someone else here but I'd say start by googling a 1 or 2 channel USB interface.