question about modes

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by bassmonkey144, Nov 1, 2005.

1. so I read through a lot of the posts looking for my answer, but I couldn't find it. I learned about modes last night from my instructor. The way he taught them to me was to build them up, via the circle of 5ths. Ionian, then dorian, etc. I asked him when I would use these modes. He gave me an example of if the key of the song is C, and the chord at the moment is F, you could play a C Dorian and it would sound right on, since it would spell out the chord and the key at the same time. Actually, I don't remember what key and chord he said, I just kinda guessed there. But my question was, where else can modes be applied?
  2. Greg Clinkingbeard

Greg Clinkingbeard

Apr 4, 2005
    Kansas City area
    Setup and repair/KRUTZ Strings
    I am not an expert in modes, but this is how I think of them. Play through all your modes in the key of C. Play a C major scale beginning on C and then Starting on D, E, F and so forth. There will be no sharps or flats.

A II chord (Dmin7) would call for a dorian mode. This is just a C maj scale starting on D.

Practicing modes just helps me to remember my sharps and flats.

Kind of Blue by Miles Davis is a good introduction to modes because the music has a scale-like quality rather than a feeling of chord changes. Hope that makes sense. If it doesn't now, keep the $.02.
  3. tim99

tim99 Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2003
    You where not taught modes, you where introduced to modes.

And you were not taught how modes are used, you were introduced to one method of constructing them.

Please note that just like constructing a bass and playing a bass are two different things, constructing modes and using them are two different things.