1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Question to the experts

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by Sep, May 9, 2006.

1. Sep

Sep

May 27, 2005
    You're probably sick of this one.

I'm new to the Bass, and my questions is Pick or fingerstyle?

While I am sure it's the latter, is there any shame to be had in using a pick for a heavier 'rock' approach?

Or should I take the Billy Sheehan route, if not his hairstyle?

Thanks for any and all answers...

Sep

2. barebones

barebones Supporting Member

Jan 3, 2005
    Denver, CO
    Why not learn both? More tools, more sounds, more fun!

Matt

3. I am no expert here, but similar to learning a language, I am a fan of learning the proper basics before I start "slangin' it up". What I mean is that there is a "proper" playing technique that involves learning fingerstyle, correct left and right hand position, how to hold the instrument, getting good tone from your fingers, etc... So my personal take is to learn the proper traditional technique (fingerstyle) from a good teacher first. Then as you grow feel free to experiment with picks, power tools, other body parts, what have you. I know many bass players who will occasionally grab a pick for novelty's sake - but most of the ones I know find the fingers to be the pure form and anything else is otherwise. And if it is speed you are concerned with just remember some of the speediest players on this here earth use, you guessed it... their fingers! (Well, there are thumbs tossed in there too, but that counts!)

my $.02

4. wwittman

wwittman

Apr 21, 2004
    Westchester, NY
    there's nothing "improper" about using a pick.

McCartney, Entwistle, Carol Kaye... the BEST players ever, used a pick.