1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

RBX-375 pickups - act or pass?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Stealth, Mar 13, 2008.

1. Stealth

Stealth

Feb 5, 2008
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Here's a bit of info I haven't been able to figure out from any place: Does the Yamaha RBX-375 have an active or passive pair of humbuckers? The bass does eat a 9V over the course of a few months, but I've never been able to confirm if that's for the pickups themselves or the 2-band EQ it has as stock knobs.

I'm asking mainly because I have limited experience with amplifiers, and most of them have either an ACT/PAS switch or different TRS input jacks. Generally, is there a way to determine whether the pick-ups, and more importantly, how much damage would connecting into the wrong switch setting or jack do?

2. I'm 99% sure the pickups are passive.

the preamp with EQ is using the 9V...you should not be going through a battery in a few months....do you leave your cord plugged in when your not using your bass?...if you are, that could explain it.

not all active basses w/ passive pickups have a bypass switch...you can certainly try installing one...you won't cause any damage to an active pickup by bypassing the eq and battery...worst case, it just won't work...

3. I was pretty sure it was active electronics?

certainly is very powerful compared to my teachers stingray and my Ibanez k5 when plugged into the same amp and same levels... (ie I have to turn down to get same volume level as other basses...)

you certainly shouldnt be chewing up batteries!!! as suggested are you leaving it plugged in?

don't worry too much about the input, as far as I can tell the input only swaps sounds for a -9 to around -15 (depends on amp) decibel setting so that the active electronics dont cook it etc... in this case turn down?