read custom basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by superbassman2000, Nov 3, 2003.

1. I like them

15 vote(s)
  2. I don't like them

1 vote(s)
  3. they are alright, but I've played better

1 vote(s)
  1. Hello,
    Has anyone ever seen or heard or played or known someone who knows someone with a Read bass? They look pretty cool, but i never have heard or played one.
    here's a link to tell me what you think

2. mark beem

mark beem Gold Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2001
    New Hope, Alabama
    I have no first hand experience with them, but they look nice..
  3. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Owner, Looperlative Audio Products
    I've never played his basses, but I have talked with Jack Read and he is a great guy.
  4. Me either but, they do look great!

5. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    San Antonio
    I've personally played a few of Jack's basses..well technically one entire bass and 2 necks that were fitted to other basses. His stuff is top notch. Not only is he cheaper than alot of custom luthiers out there, he'll work with you to get you EXACTLY what you want. Right down to the body shape. His basses sound amazing and play incredibly. The action is insanely low and a teacher of mine had a cheap Dimarzio bass that Jack made a neck for and even after spending a months in a case, this thing never went out of tune.

Plus he is a great guy to deal with. I had him work on a Schecter I had a while back.
  6. berklee46

berklee46 Supporting Member

Dec 19, 2000
    I had Jack do some extensive electronics work to one of my basses and he was like a surgeon. The routing and all wiring was perfect!