1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Real Book and "Real" transcriptions

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by terryjj1, Jul 20, 2012.

1. terryjj1

terryjj1 Guest

Jul 19, 2012
    :pHi,

I'm new at the BIG bass..gave up the electric for the ever lovely DB...what a joy..anyhoo..maybe I'm really ignorant or expect too much but when i try to play songs from the "REAL" book or transcriptions that are supposed to be the real thing, I find they are not similar at all to the songs I listen to by the original artists....for example..Waltz for Debby...it seems to start off like in the book but within 5 or 6 bars I'm lost...I have no idea where Scott went...is this common?...is it actually possible to ge the sheet music of what EXACTLY is being played?...I'm no Scott Lafaro and never shall be but I happen to really like that song and wouldn't mind being able to play along with the music......

2. LouieV2

LouieV2

Jan 9, 2011
    Boston, MA
    Youre most likely counting in double time. Same thing happened to me on monday when I was jamming with the school jazz band.. try counting at half the speed youre counting at right now and it might make more sense

3. Congratulation and good luck in your move to the double bass! Many folks learn quickly that the Real Book is not the most reliable source for chord changes. Even if it were, every jazz musician has his/her own approach to a tune, changing the melody and/or substituting chords. The Real Book strive to show one example (usually, the track its lifted from is mentioned at the bottom).