Rest strokes have killed my speed!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by CJK84, Jul 25, 2004.

1. CJK84

Jan 22, 2004
    Maria Stein, OH
    After fingerstyle plucking with free strokes for years, I began using rest strokes almost exclusively about 3 months ago.

I like the muting and raking that the technique provides. Initially, I felt like I was a more advanced bassist for using rest strokes.

However, although I still play with a light touch, I have lost a noticeable amount of speed and I now think that I might have found the reason.

When playing rest strokes, each of my plucking fingers is perfectly straight when it comes to rest on the adjacent string.

And the fingertip extends well past the string - perhaps up to 3/8 inch - so that the pad of the finger is resting on the string.

I think this is probably not the best technique and has been the source of my slower-than-desired movement.

So ... is maintaining some curvature to your plucking fingers at all times (even when momentarily resting on a string) desirable?

And should the fingertip be the only part of the finger that comes to rest on the adjacent string?

Any help would be appreciated - I'm frustrated that I've hit a wall with this.
  2. I usually approach the strings from a fairly shallow angle, but still pluck them up towards my face. I end up resting a little bit on top of the adjacent string, so I can't get caught and slowed down. If you've got your wrist far from the body of the bass, like a classical guitarist, you might lower it.

This is confusing me. I straighten out when reaching for the string I'm plucking, then I curve my finger to pluck it.
  3. AllegroNonMolto

May 15, 2004