1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rhythm&beat--how to practice/learn?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Xocolatl, Oct 31, 2010.

1. Xocolatl

Xocolatl

Aug 16, 2010
    I have never been good with music. I have had a lot of experience with it though. I have tried my hands at piano, violin, viola, guitar, and a lot of voice lessons. (I slowly move down the key until I finally hit the bass recently) The one thing that I could never do is keeping the beat. But that's supposed to be one of the most important thing for a bassist, right?

I have tried starting off slow, then speed up to the normal speed for a song. I've tried practicing some interesting beat patterns. I try counting, tapping my feet, even trying to internalize the beat by incorporating it into everything I do (if you see some guy mopping the floor in a weird pattern, that's probably just me).

But like I said, I just can't seem to keep my timing straigh. I always lose the beat and end up going too fast, or too slow, or totally lost at times.

Is there any good ways to practice keeping the beat? What are some common beats that I should know?

2. Etienned

Etienned

Jul 16, 2010
    Montréal
    Among other things, ime, a metronome that clicks is better than a metronome that beeps to feel the rhythm.

3. xocolatl, it is a known fact that some people have a better feel for time than others. however, if you are a bassist or a drummer, you must develop an excellent feel for time because you set the pace for the band.

i once met jeff berlin, who is arguably one of the world's top 10 bassists. he said throw your metronome away, becuase everyone has a decent feel for time. i dont agree with this completely.